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Understanding 
New Jersey’s 
Graduated

Driver License

Program

Teens are at the highest risk of being involved in a car crash during 
their first 12 to 24 months of driving. Some of the leading causes of 
teen crashes include distraction, carry passengers, nighttime driving 
and speed. 
(NHTSA) 

A teen driver’s fatality risk increases by 44 percent with one passenger, 
doubles with two passengers and quadruples when carrying three 
or more passengers.
American Automobile Association (AAA) 

The more guided experience a young driver has, the safer that driver 
will be on the road.

www.njteendriving.com

TEEN’S CRASH FOUR TIMES MORE 
OFTEN THAN ANY OTHER AGE GROUP

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) 

Kean University in partnership with the New Jersey Division of Highway
Traffic Safety and New Jersey State Police developed Share the Keys,
a research based, data-driven orientation designed to reduce teen 
driver crash risks by increasing parental involvement.  

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws are recognized as the single 
most effective tool for reducing teen driver crashes, injuries and deaths. 
While New Jersey’s GDL is considered one of the most progressive 
and stringent in the United States, it must be clearly understood and 
supported by parents to save lives. To that end, ensuring that parents 
and teens fully understand the risks and responsibilities associated 
with driving is essential to teen driver safety.  

Parental involvement has a significant impact on teen driver safety.  
Driving through the Eyes of Teens, A Closer Look, a research report 
from the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Research Institute and 
State Farm, examined the impact parenting styles had on teen driver 
safety and found that teens whose parents set rules and pay attention 
to their driving activities in a helpful, supportive way are half as 
likely to be involved in a crash.  The report presents the numerous 
safety gains experienced through this balanced parenting approach 
(authoritative) and provides a series of best practices.  

For more information about Share the Keys visit:

NEW JERSEY PARENT/TEEN 
SAFE DRIVING ORIENTATION

www.SharetheKeys.com

FOUR OF EVERY TEN TEEN
CRASH DEATHS OCCUR AT NIGHT

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) 

(NHTSA) 

WWW.NJSAFEROADS.COM



New Jersey residents who have never had a driver license must follow 
New Jersey’s Graduated Driver License (GDL) program to get their 
first unrestricted basic driver license.

The GDL is designed to give new drivers increased, step-by-step 
instruction and driving experience on the road to obtaining a basic 
driver license. The GDL has been proven to save lives among new 
drivers and their passengers.

 

•	 May not drive between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.

•	 May only transport one passenger, unless the driver is 
accompanied by a parent or guardian or the passengers are the 
driver’s dependents (children)

•	 Use of a cell phone (hand-held or hands-free), hand-held video 
games or any other hand-held wireless electronic devices (i.e., 
ipods, GPS) is prohibited

•	 Must ensure that they and all of their passengers wear seat belts

•	 Must display the GDL decals on any vehicle they drive

•	 Face a fine of $100 for a violation under the GDL

•	 May not plea bargain any point carrying offense to a 0 point 
carrying offense

NEW JERSEY’S GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSE PROGRAMThe Graduated Driver License Program
for First Time Drivers

PERMIT STAGE

•	 Be at least 16 years old

•	 Obtain consent of a parent or guardian  
•	 Enroll in an approved behind-the-wheel driver training course    

•	 Pass the knowledge and vision test

•	 Be at least 17 years old

•	 Obtain consent of a parent or guardian

•	 Pass the knowledge and vision test

•	 Practice supervised driving for at least a 6 month period of time.

	 A. SPECIAL LEARNER’S PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

	 B. BASIC DRIVER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 	 A. PROBATIONARY LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

•	 Be at least 17 years old

•	 Pass the MVC road test  

•	 Practice unsupervised driving for at least a 12 month period of time

•	 Be at least 18 years old

•	 Complete the unsupervised 12 month practice driving period

•	 Pay the required fee

	 B. EXAMINATION PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

DRIVING HOURS..............................................................NO DRIVING BETWEEN 11:01PM - 5:00AM

•	 Restriction does not apply to drivers 21 years of age or older
•	 To qualify for the work or religious exemption, drivers must carry legible documentation on letterhead signed by the employer, 

organization or religious institution stating the reasons for the request to exempt from the curfew restriction. The letter must include 
signature, title, address and telephone number of the designated official.

PASSENGERS.......................................................................... NO MORE THAN ONE (1) PASSENGER

•	 Restriction does not apply to drivers 21 years of age or older
•	 Unless the teen is accompanied by a Parent/Guardian or the passengers are the driver’s dependents (children)

GDL DECAL............................................................................................................ REQUIRED

•	 Placement on Front and Rear License Plates
•	 (Removable) $4 a pair available at Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) locations throughout New Jersey

ELECTRONIC DEVICES..............................................................................................PROHIBITED

•	 No use of cell phones (handheld or hands-free), iPods etc.

SEATBELTS............................................................................................................. REQUIRED

PLEA BARGAIN AGREEMENTS....................................................................................0 POINT BAN

•	 Effective September 17, 2008, the Attorney General banned municipal prosecutors from offering 0 point plea agreements to all GDL holders.

LICENSE STAGE

PERMIT AND PROBATIONARY LICENSE RESTRICTIONS

THE FACTS ABOUT THE LAW

For more information about the GDL licensing process, 
please visit www.njmvc.gov


